While We’re At It

Judging is well under way for Pride of Place 2014, and some of you may have already completed the judging visits.

This year, we are inviting you to give your entry a further push by getting it featured on here. Shortly we will be in contact with your liaison to get the inside scoop on how the visit went and to share any photos from it.    We’ll be publishing stories from you throughout the summer and hope to feature photographs of your judging day.  If you have your own Facebook or website, please feel free to share the link.

This is intended in the spirit of fun and sharing; if you are featured here, it does not have any impact on your chances in the judging process.

Thanks very much.



Pride Of Place Award Categories

After consulting widely with judges and liaison officers and always seeking to refine and maximise the impact of the competition, we’ve decided to keep the population categories at five and to continue with designated single issue themes in categories 6, 7 and 8. Categories 9 and 10 are not population specific. Category 11 is a defined area of a city, town or suburban place.

  • Category 1 – up to 250 people
  • Category 2 – between 250 and 750 people
  • Category 3 – between 750 and 1,500 people
  • Category 4 – between 1,000 and 4,000 people
  • Category 5 – over 4,000 people
  • Category 6 – Single Issue – Eco Community Initiative
  • Category 7 – Single Issue – Community Innovation
  • Category 8 – Single Issue – Community Health Initiative – physical activity
  • Category 9 – Housing Estate – Not population specific
  • Category 10 – Islands and Coastal Communities
  • Category 11 – Urban Neighbourhoods

Here are the categories in the Cities Competition. The change this year is that the Housing Estates Category has been replaced by Urban Neighbourhoods, which is not population specific.

  • Category 1 – under 1,000
  • Category 2 – over 1,000
  • Category 3 – Single issue – Eco Community Initiative
  • Category 4 – Single issue – Community Innovation
  • Category 5 – Single issue – Community Health Initiative – physical activity
  • Category 6 – Urban Neighbourhoods

Every Local Authority may nominate up to a maximum of five categories, but with only entry submitted per individual category.

We’d like to wish the very best of luck to everyone who enters.